Common Components System (CCS)

The Common Components System consists of three different components:
  • The Common Interface (CI), a software package which is locally installed within the user’s IT environment
  • The Central Reference File Database (CRD), which is accessible remotely
  • The Certification Authority (CA), which provides X509 certificates for secure communication.

While the CI is a technical tool that supports the interoperable exchange of messages, the CRD is a centralised database that stores Location Codes and Company Codes required under TAF TSI (EC Regulation 62/2006, repealed by 1305/2015) and TAP TSI (EC Regulation 454/2011), and makes these available to users.

The Common Interface (Reference Implementation), the Central Reference File Database and the Certification Authority were built on the basis of requirements in the TAF and TAP Regulations following a European tender, with stakeholder and European Union funding for the development.

The CCS was developed by the TAF TSI Common Components Group (CCG), a special UIC group. The Group consisted of the main European Infrastructure Managers (IMs) as well as the largest freight Railway Undertakings (RUs), along with some smaller ones.

On 1 January 2015, the activities of the CCG were officially transferred from the UIC to RNE. Since then RNE has been responsible for the development, operation and maintenance of the TAF and TAP-TSI Common Components. » more


CCS Sign-up button
By clicking sign up you will be redirected to the CCS CRD sign up site..

Become a CCS User

Access to CCS for TAF and TAP actors is based on a user agreement that needs to be signed beforehand:

  • Contact CCS Service Desk at
  • CCS Service Desk will send you the CCS User Agreement


We need your help to further improve CCS!
Please send your ideas, feedback, criticism and suggestions for improvements to: