What is the Common Components System (CCS)?

The Common Components System consists of three different components:
  • The Common Interface (CI)
  • The Central Reference File Database (CRD)
  • The Certification Authority (CA)

Common Interface (CI)

CI functionalities enable the exchange of messages between existing or future legacy (company) applications residing within rail companies. These legacy applications can connect with the CI through one of the standard protocols (such as FTP, WMQ/JMS, JMS, File, Web service, Email and IP Socket) and use different message formats (such as Text, CSV, XML or UIC 407-1). If necessary, messages can be translated from one format into another in the CI.

The CI provides a graphical mapping layer that can be used easily both by IT and non-IT staff. Message exchange between railway companies has been standardised: it is based on common message formats or shared message formats agreed by two or more railway companies.


Common interface


Central Reference File Database (CRD)

The CRD consists of:

  • the codes for companies and locations
  • a common repository of metadata for the messages to be exchanged within TAF and TAP.

The Reference File Database for Companies will be maintained through the process described on the UIC website http://www.uic.org/spip.php?article311 and can be downloaded. The Central Location Ident Reference File consists of the Primary Location Code and the Subsidiary Location Code. The national location entities (mostly Infrastructure Managers) are responsible for the allocation of the Primary Location Code to railway locations. This is a prerequisite for the allocation of the Subsidiary Location Code by Railway Undertakings.

Certification Authority (CA)

RNE acts as a Certificate Authority (CA) and provides X-509 certificates to support secure communication between partners, along with message-based encryption and signature.